Decampment

As strange as it seems as none feels any stranger,
My muse with the hands that controlled,
Has left me.
He’s got too many to keep in check,
Too many to rip away and too many to
Burden with convoluted feelings.

Though this eerie was oft foretold
By many and almost everyone I knew,
It still funnily abrades my calm.
Is it sillier for me to assume that I’m out of the woods?
Were those heavier than the heaviest yesterdays,
Finally letting me go?

I have quivered and cut parts off me,
Labelled much as nightmares and toxicity
That when today looks at me with a novelty I’ve never known,
A strange pang for past squander escapes my eyes.
Evocating all my illusions and struggles
I forgive myself.

The deed has now happened.
The sun’s gone and he has left with it.
Disquietude unfailingly engulfed plentiful but
One smile and a sniffling promise always retain me.
Accepting that doughtiest choice I chose,
The muse that kept me in check has finally left.

Leave a comment